Smithsburg Historical Society

Celebrating our 25th year in 2011

Representing the Northeast area of Washington County including: Smithsburg, Leitersburg, Cavetown, Chewsville, Ringgold, Beaver Creek, Edgemont, Greensburg, Pondsville, Mt Aetna, etc.

Area history including:
  • Battle of Smithsburg
  • Western Railroad Maryland
  • Artists: Bishop, Lechler, etc.
  • Industrialist/Inventors: Geiser and Frick
  • Kilmer Pottery
  • Geneology
Smithsburg Historical Society
20 East Water Street
P.O. Box 403
Smithsburg, Maryland 21783


Saturday 10am-2pm
other hours by appointment

Historical Society Board
  • John Jacques - President
  • Toby Law - Vice President
  • Richard Reynolds - Treasurer
  • Billie Boyer - Secretary

  • Dave Harp - Membership Director
  • Maida Law - Co-Chair Hospitality
  • Laura Duvall - Co-Chair Hospitality
©2017 Town of Smithsburg. All Rights Reserved.
Website By:, DH Web Inc., Web Design and Hosting.